2013 was beyond good to me

2013

I cannot believe that tomorrow starts 2014. Personally, I’ve always been a fan of the New Year hype. It’s a fresh start . . . a chance to set new goals & become a better you.

2013 was beyond good to me. I set three main goals when going into this year: 1) to be loved & love others, 2) to be successful and 3) to become a better me. For the first time ever, I am proud of where I am.

In 2013, I wanted to be loved and to love others. In the past, I hadn’t had the best of luck when it came to guys. I’ve dated all the crazies and selfish men you could think of, but I finally found my prince. He has been my best friend for over five years now and under my nose the entire time. Oh and the first guy my parents actually LOVE! I’ve never had someone truly love me, love my family and want to be involved in my dreams and aspirations. I could not be happier when it comes to this. With that, we moved in together, traveled here and there and got a precious puppy. Needless to say, life is good in the love department.

In 2013, I wanted to be successful. This meant graduating college with my B.A. in Public Relations, as well as, finding a job in my field. God sure did bless me this year. I graduated, landed a job in nonprofit PR a month later and also have had the most successful fundraising experience ever seen at my job. I went from a college student trying to pay the bills to a PR professional with my name in the paper. It still feels like a dream.

In 2013, I wanted to become a better me. After leaving a grocery store job I had been at for five years and landing a career, it was time to let go of the negativity around me, close doors and welcome new opportunities. I was given lots of support with all of my successes, but also much negativity when I started going places. Many so-called “friends” of mine were purely an illusion. I cut many ties with many people and now lead a very positive life. I am a better me because of it.

Overall, this past year has taught me what is important in life. It’s surely not how many friends I have or how much money I make, but instead it is what will further me and my dreams and the love of my family and close friends. Because of them, all of my goals were achieved in 2013.

I look forward to 2014. I want to travel, continue to work and dream my ass off and hopefully open a new chapter in my life. I thank God for all of the opportunities he has put in front of me, as well as, all of the obstacles. I am me because of Him.

Happy New Year dolls! Let’s make 2014 our best yet!

PR Princess Logo

Leave a comment